HOT! Get the latest CBD News delivered to your inbox
Is it legal to buy or possess weed in New Mexico? Medical marijuana is legal for buyers above at least 21 years. The state was the first to legalize marijuana as a viable medical solution in 1978 and now has plenty of dispensaries to cater to the thousands of customers looking for recreational and medical cannabis.
New Mexico legalized medical cannabis in 2021, which allowed consumers above age 21 to buy, possess and give it to other adults. It also has laws allowing households to grow a certain amount and type of plants. The best part about this development is the separate bill that expunged previous criminals of their possession and use of cannabis. Today, we will answer the most pressing questions about cannabis in New Mexico to better prepare you when interacting with dispensaries or transporting your products.
FAQ Medical Cannabis From New Mexico Recreational Shops
Does Medical Cannabis Have Limitations?
Medical cannabis has more limitations because it serves a different purpose than recreational. Our store only sells medical cannabis that meets the proper standards and allows consumers who have medical cards. Some medical cannabis in stock include:
- Concentrated oils
Each one of these meets the right regulatory laws, which would mean the only difference is the method of delivery and consumption of cannabis in New Mexico.
New Mexico has licenses to address issues on cannabis products and continues to revise these laws to maintain the correct list of conditions. As a result, cannabis sale, production, and consumption are fairer regarding race, social factors, and medical needs.
Which Is The Safest Dispensary To Purchase Marijuana In NM?
The state has state-licensed producers who can sell their products to dispensaries. Patients and recreational users are safe when they get their products from authorized sellers. However, it is prohibited and illegal to consume cannabis in public, such as schools, recreational centers, public parks, workplaces, etc.
How Can You Get A Medical Card For NM Marijuana Products?
Patients in New Mexico have a right to get medical cannabis if they produce certifications to show eligibility. Some list of conditions that quickly get a medical card include:
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Chrohn’s disease
- Autoimmune illnesses like arthritis
- Damage to the spine
What Are Some Penalties For Illegal Marijuana Use In NM?
Smoking cannabis in public will attract a fine of about $50, and Underage consumers will get community service or hours-long education. There are limitations to the amount of cannabis you can carry in public, and a more significant amount will automatically attract a felony charge.
The first DUI under cannabis intoxication will result in 90 days in prison and more if your mistake is more significant.
How Are The Taxes On New Mexico Cannabis Sales?
The state applies certain taxes on cannabis retail sales and distributes the amount collected to the counties that made the sales.
We have a lot more information on the purchase and sale of cannabis for our customers, so please check the website today and contact our Marijuana shops in New Mexico (575-530-0400) if you have any concerns.